HyperloopTT Launches Joint Venture With Port Of Hamburg Operator

Hyperloop Transportation Technologies has signed another international deal, this time with the leading container terminal operator in the Port of Hamburg.

The Los Angeles-based startup, one of several working to bring Elon Musk’s vision for a high-speed tubular transportation system to reality, has formed a joint venture with Hamburger Hafen und Logistik Aktiengesellschaft (HHLA).

The new company will focus on integrating the latest container movement innovations with hyperloop technologies into the largest rail port in Europe and then bringing this new technology to ports and shipping and logistics companies worldwide.

“HHLA has a long history of innovation,” said HyperloopTT co-founder and CEO Dirk Ahlborn in a statement. “Years before we were talking about self-driving vehicles, containers moved autonomously in Hamburg. Together, we will develop a complete system that not only concentrates on speed and efficiency but also takes into account the issues ports face in daily operation.”

The joint venture aims to develop and bring to market a hyperloop transport system for seaport and inland shipping container operations.

The project will begin with an initial study on connecting a cargo-based hyperloop system from an HHLA container terminal to container yards located further inland with the goals of expanding the port’s capacity while reducing congestion within the port and city area and lowering the carbon footprint of the port.

The joint venture plans to build a transfer station for testing purposes at an HHLA terminal in Hamburg, including a 100-meter cargo route, special freight capsule and loading dock.

“Together with HHLA, this joint venture will be able to develop a commercial product that fills a missing need in the port industry,” added HyperloopTT co-founder and Chairman Bibop Gresta.

In addition to this new joint venture in Germany, HyperloopTT has signed agreements in the United States, UAE, Brazil, France, India, China, Korea, Indonesia, Slovakia, Czech Republic and Ukraine.